In Texas, all motorcycle riders are required by law to wear a helmet while operating their vehicle. This applies to both drivers and passengers of any age. There are a few exceptions to this rule, such as if the rider is 21 years of age or older and has completed a motorcycle safety course, or if the rider has proof of financial responsibility.
Motorcyclists who do not comply with the helmet law can be fined up to $500.
As of July 1, 2020, Texas requires all riders to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating a motorcycle on public roadways. The only exception to this rule is if the rider is 21 years of age or older and has completed an approved motorcycle safety course or has insurance that covers medical expenses in the event of an accident. Riders who do not comply with the new law will be subject to a fine of up to $500.
The new law was passed in response to data that showed that over half of all motorcyclists killed in 2018 were not wearing helmets at the time of their crash. In addition, studies have shown that wearing a helmet can reduce the risk of serious injury or death in a motorcycle crash by up to 67%. The Texas Department of Transportation offers free motorcycle safety courses around the state which riders can take to fulfill the requirements of the new law.
What are the Helmet Exemptions in Texas?
In Texas, there are several reasons why a person may be exempt from having to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle. First, if the rider is 21 years of age or older and has either completed an approved motorcycle operator training course or holds a valid motorcycle license from another state, he or she is not required to wear a helmet. Secondly, riders who do not hold a driver’s license of any kind are not required to wear helmets.
Finally, if the rider can show that wearing a helmet would violate his or her religious beliefs, then he or she may also be exempt from the law.
What is Required on a Motorcycle in Texas?
In Texas, all motorcycles must be titled and registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You must have a valid driver’s license to operate a motorcycle on public roads, and you must wear a helmet if you are under 21 years of age.
To register your motorcycle, you will need to provide the DMV with the following:
-The completed application for registration and title -The vehicle’s current out-of-state title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin -Proof of insurance
-Payment for all required fees once these materials have been submitted and processed, you will be issued a Texas Certificate of Title and Registration. This document will serve as your proof that the motorcycle is properly registered in Texas.
Which States Can You Ride a Motorcycle Without a Helmet?
There are currently 19 states in the U.S. that allow motorcyclists to ride without a helmet, provided they meet certain criteria. Those criteria typically include being over the age of 18 and having proof of insurance. In some states, riders are also required to have completed a safety course or have a certain amount of riding experience.
The following states currently have no helmet laws: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Vermont and Wyoming. However it’s important to note that some of these states (like Ohio) only exempt riders who meet specific criteria from having to wear a helmet. So if you’re planning on hitting the open road on your motorcycle this summer and want to go helmet-free in one of these states be sure to check the local laws first.
And always remember to ride safely!
Can You Drive a Motorcycle Without a Helmet?
You can technically drive a motorcycle without a helmet, but it is not recommended. Riding without a helmet significantly increases your risk of sustaining a serious or fatal injury in the event of an accident. In fact, studies have shown that wearing a helmet while riding can reduce the risk of head injury by up to 85%.
So why take the chance? If you’re caught riding without a helmet in most states, you’ll be subject to a fine. In some states, like New Hampshire, you could even have your license suspended.
So save yourself the hassle and wear a helmet when you ride. Your life could depend on it.
Texas' Motorcycle Helmet Law
Texas Helmet Exemption Sticker
In Texas, there is no longer a requirement for riders under the age of 21 to wear a motorcycle helmet. However, riders who choose not to wear a helmet must purchase a $5 annual sticker from the Department of Public Safety (DPS) in order to ride without one. The sticker must be affixed to either the rider’s helmet or their motorcycle.
This change was made in 2013, when Texas lawmakers passed a bill exempting riders under the age of 21 from the state’s mandatory motorcycle helmet law. Prior to this change, all riders were required by law to wear a helmet while operating a motorcycle on public roads. The rationale behind the change was that requiring young adults to wear helmets while riding motorcycles was an infringement on their personal freedom and autonomy.
Some proponents of the bill also argued that mandating helmet use led to fewer people riding motorcycles, which in turn reduced funding for motorcycle-related programs and initiatives. The DPS has stated that it will continue to monitor crash data closely in order to determine whether or not the change in law has had any negative impact on safety. So far, there has been no evidence of an increase in serious injuries or fatalities as a result of the exemption.
Yes, Texas does require motorcycle helmets. Any person operating or riding on a motorcycle must wear a properly fitted and fastened DOT-compliant helmet. The only exceptions to this law are (1) riders 21 years of age or older who have completed an approved motorcycle operator training and safety course, or (2) riders who hold a medical exemption from the Department of Public Safety.