Yes, Texas has a motorcycle helmet law. All riders are required to wear a DOT-approved helmet at all times while operating a motorcycle on public roads. Failure to do so can result in a fine of up to $500.
Wearing a helmet can help protect you in the event of an accident and could potentially save your life.
Yes, Texas has a motorcycle helmet law. All riders are required to wear a helmet when operating a motorcycle on public roads. Failure to do so can result in a fine of up to $500.
What is the Helmet Exemption in Texas?
In Texas, there is a helmet exemption for motorcycle riders over the age of 21 who have completed an approved motorcycle safety course or who have insurance that covers them for at least $10,000 in medical benefits. Riders who do not meet either of these criteria are required by law to wear a helmet while riding.
Which States Can You Ride a Motorcycle Without a Helmet?
As of 2020, there are only three states in the US where you are not required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle: Illinois, Iowa, and New Hampshire. In Illinois and Iowa, riders over the age of 18 are exempt from the helmet law, while in New Hampshire, all riders are exempt regardless of age. While many riders choose to forego a helmet for personal reasons or because they feel it impairs their vision or hearing, it is important to remember that doing so significantly increases your risk of serious injury or death in the event of an accident.
Can You Get a Ticket for Not Wearing a Helmet on a Motorcycle in Texas?
Yes, you can get a ticket for not wearing a helmet on a motorcycle in Texas. The penalty for not wearing a helmet is a fine of up to $500.
What is the Motorcycle Law in Texas?
The motorcycle law in Texas is very simple. You must be at least 21 years old to operate a motorcycle, and you must have a valid driver’s license. There is no mandatory helmet law in Texas, but riders are encouraged to wear one.
Texas' Motorcycle Helmet Law
Texas Helmet Exemption Sticker
The Texas Helmet Exemption Sticker is a sticker that allows motorcyclists to ride without a helmet in Texas. The sticker must be obtained from the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). To be eligible for the sticker, riders must:
* Be at least 21 years old * Have completed a motorcycle operator training course approved by the DPS or have completed the military equivalent of such a course * Have health insurance that covers injuries sustained while operating a motorcycle, including head injuries
Riders who meet these criteria may apply for the exemption sticker by submitting an application to the DPS. The application must include: * A certified copy of the applicant’s motorcycle operator training course completion certificate or military discharge papers indicating successful completion of a motorcycle operator training course
In Texas, there is no state-wide law requiring motorcycle riders to wear helmets, although some cities have passed ordinances mandating their use. This has led to a debate over the years about the benefits and drawbacks of such a law. Supporters of a helmet law argue that it would help reduce the number of serious injuries and fatalities among motorcycle riders.
Opponents counter that it should be up to each individual rider to decide whether or not to wear a helmet, and that a mandatory law would infringe on their personal freedom.