In Oregon, there is no state law requiring motorcycle riders to wear helmets while operating their vehicles. However, riders are required to have insurance that covers medical expenses in the event of an accident, and many riders choose to wear helmets voluntarily. While there is no legal requirement to do so, wearing a helmet can help protect you in the event of an accident.
If you are considering riding without a helmet, be sure to weigh the risks and benefits before making your decision.
Oregon has a motorcycle helmet law that requires all riders and passengers to wear helmets when operating or riding on a motorcycle. The law applies to all motorcycles, including mopeds and scooters.
What is the Fine for Not Wearing a Motorcycle Helmet in Oregon?
In Oregon, it is against the law to operate or ride on a motorcycle without wearing a crash helmet. It is also against the law to allow a passenger on a motorcycle who is not wearing a crash helmet. A violation of either of these laws is punishable by a fine of up to $500.
When Did Oregon Pass the Helmet Law?
In Oregon, all riders under the age of 18 are required to wear a helmet while riding a bicycle. The law went into effect on January 1, 2010.
Oregon’s mandatory bicycle helmet law is one of the most progressive in the nation.
The intent of the law is to reduce serious injuries and fatalities among bicyclists. According to the Oregon Department of Transportation, there were 848 reported bicycling injury crashes in Oregon in 2016, and 14 percent of those involved head injuries. Although wearing a helmet cannot guarantee safety, it is estimated that helmets reduce the risk of head injury by 85 percent and the risk of brain injury by 88 percent.
Wearing a properly fitted bicycle helmet can also help prevent neck injuries. The cost of a good quality bike helmet is typically between $30 and $60. However, many retailers offer discounts on helmets to encourage people to comply with the law.
For example, REI offers a 20 percent discount on all helmets purchased in-store or online. There are some exceptions to Oregon’s mandatory bicycle helmet law. Riders who are over the age of 18 and members of certain religious groups are not required to wear helmets while riding bicycles.
What Us States Do Not Have a Motorcycle Helmet Law?
There are currently 19 states in the US that do not have a motorcycle helmet law. This means that riders are not required by law to wear a helmet while operating a motorcycle. The states without a helmet law are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio and Pennsylvania.
Some states only require riders under a certain age to wear a helmet (usually 18 years old or younger), while others exempt certain types of motorcycles from the helmet requirement altogether. For example, in Texas riders are only required to wear a helmet if they are 21 years of age or younger or if they have completed an approved motorcycle safety course. The decision to repeal mandatory motorcycle helmet laws is often met with opposition from safety advocates who argue that helmets save lives and should be required by law.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), helmets saved an estimated 1,872 lives in 2017 and could have saved an additional 740 lives if all motorcyclists had worn them. Opponents of mandatory motorcycle helmet laws argue that the decision to wear a Helmet should be left up to the individual rider. They argue that adults should be free to make their own decisions about risk and that mandating helmets violates personal freedom.
Are Helmets Required in Portland?
In the state of Oregon, all riders under the age of 16 are required by law to wear a helmet while riding a bicycle. There is no law requiring adult cyclists to wear helmets, but many riders choose to do so anyway. In the city of Portland, there are several bike trails and paths that are well-lit and considered safe for riding without a helmet.
However, riders should always use caution when riding in traffic or on unfamiliar routes.
Oregon's Motorcycle Helmet Law
Motorcycle Helmet Laws by State
Most states have enacted motorcycle helmet laws to protect riders from serious injuries in the event of a crash. Helmet use has been shown to reduce the risk of head injury by 67% and the risk of death by 37%. Despite these statistics, there are still many riders who choose to ride without a helmet.
Motorcycle helmet laws vary from state to state. Some states, like California, require all riders to wear a helmet regardless of age or experience. Other states, like Florida, only require riders under the age of 21 to wear a helmet.
And still other states have no motorcycle helmet law at all. If you’re planning on riding a motorcycle in any state, it’s important to know that state’s specific motorcycle helmet law. Wearing a helmet could mean the difference between life and death in the event of an accident.
Yes, Oregon has a motorcycle helmet law. All riders are required to wear a DOT-approved helmet at all times while riding on a motorcycle. The only exception to this rule is if the rider is over the age of 21 and has completed an approved motorcycle safety course.